RSS Advisory Board

RSS Advisory Board Members

The RSS Advisory Board, an independent organization founded in 2003 that supports the Really Simple Syndication (RSS) format, consists of the following members:

Rogers Cadenhead (chairman) is a ServiceNow developer and computer book author who has written over 25 books on computer programming and web publishing, including the best-selling Sams Teach Yourself Java in 21 Days and Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours lines from Pearson.

Randy Charles Morin is a writer and application developer who publishes RSS Blog, the most popular weblog covering RSS with more than 1,000 subscribers. He's the author of Programming Windows Services and COM+ Unleashed and has written for Hardcore Visual Studio.NET.

Sterling "Chip" Camden is a software developer, writer for TechRepublic and the former publisher of the techblogs Chips Quips. He also created the OPML Blogroll and OPML Browser widgets for the weblog publishing software WordPress.

Simone Carletti is a technical manager at Altura Labs and a contributor to the Italian-language web publishing site who specializes in RSS-related issues. He also wrote the Italian translation of the RSS 2.0 specification.

James Holderness is the cocreator of the Snarfer RSS reader. A Windows developer for over 15 years, Holderness worked on the Internet search software WebFerret and the Delrina Cyberjack Internet application suite.

Jenny Levine is an "information maven" for librarians and the publisher of Shifted Librarian. An Internet development specialist for the Metropolitan Library System, a coalition of 590 libraries in Illinois, Levine speaks frequently on RSS, touting the benefits of syndication to new audiences.

Eric Lunt is the cofounder and chief technology officer of FeedBurner, a syndication feed management service that publishes more than 188,000 RSS feeds for 120,000 users. He also founded the alert service and is the former vice president of development of the mobile data services company 724 Solutions.

Ryan Parman is the creator of the SimplePie RSS parsing library for PHP and the Tarzan PHP toolkit for Amazon Web Services. He's also the cofounder of WarpShare.Com and a contributor to the Media RSS specification.

Jake Savin is the technical program manager at Microsoft working on Windows Live. He was the lead developer of UserLand Software, the company that published Really Simple Syndication from 2000 to 2003, and the cocreator of Manila and Radio UserLand, two of the first commercial programs that supported the format.

Jason Shellen is the product manager of the web-based RSS aggregator Google Reader and a former strategist for Pyra Labs. He's also a member of the PayPal Developers Network Advisory Board and the Social Software Alliance.

Paul Querna is an engineer on the Bloglines web-based RSS reader offered by Ask and a member of the project management committee for the Apache web server. He's also a former developer of voice over IP communications systems at BitStruct.

The former members of the board are Matthew Bookspan, Adam Curry, Jason Douglas, Chris Finke, Andrew Grumet, Meg Hourihan, Loïc Le Meur, Ross Mayfield, Greg Reinacker, Dave Sifry, Brent Simmons, Greg Smith, Jon Udell, Dave Winer and Steve Zellers.